AFOSR, in cooperation with the Air Force Research Laboratory (Phillips Laboratory), the Naval Research Laboratory, and the Army Research Laboratory, has established a Tri-Service research program to investigate novel high energy microwave sources. The program is part of the DoD Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) and is funded at a rate of $3.0M per year for five years. Under its auspices, HPM scientists at nine U.S. universities are attacking research projects under the Consortia led by Neville Luhmann at the University of California, Davis, Victor Granatstein at the University of Maryland, College Park, and Magne Kristiansen at Texas Tech. The other university participants include Edl Schamiloglu at New Mexico, John Nation at Cornell University, Ned Birdsall at the University of California, Berkeley, George Caryotakis at Stanford University, (Stanford Linear Accelerator Center), Ronald Gilgenbach at University of Michigan, and A.T. Lin at the University of California, Los Angeles. To facilitate the rapid transition of research results into the industrial community, formal collaborative subcontracts are in place with James Benford at Microwave Sciences, Carter Armstrong at Northrop Grumman, and Glen Huffman at CPI. Furthermore, cooperative ties have been established with the ongoing HPM R&D efforts at the Phillips Lab in Albuquerque. This MURI High Energy Microwave Source Program officially came into existence in 1995. However, it builds on over a decade of microwave research efforts funded by the plasma physics office at the AFOSR. It also is synergistic with the ongoing Tri-Service Vacuum Electronics Initiative led by Robert Parker of NRL as well as with AFOSR and Rome Lab long-standing Advanced Thermionic Research Initiative (ATRI).


Send comments to: the Web Master